then she went to haiti.

after i agreed to go to haiti and gave my purse away, i realized that i want to hold tightly to nothing.  my stuff, my comforts, my wants, should never be more important than people or obeying God.

that’s why i could leave in october and live in haiti for one week.  i don’t want to live my life saying no to experiences that are uncomfortable and scary.  God is bigger than my comforts and fears.  haiti was a bit dirty and there were lots of rats…yuck.  i saw the rats on day 1 and the rest of the days i still saw the rats but i didn’t see the rats…it was like i got used to it…the rats didn’t bother me.  my fears slowly melted away as i accomplished my tasks and explored the haitian culture.  i got to visit the children’s home in haiti that the girls on the A-team came from…the workers at the home remembered the precious young women who were adopted by the A-team.  it was such a neat experience!

being in haiti was so wonderful.  life was simple.  after breakfast we started our work, it was about 8:30a.  stopped for lunch between 11-noon then worked again until about 4p.  took a warm-ish shower and ate dinner at 6p.  read a book then went to bed by 9.  repeat.  i never thought about what i didn’t have and certainly didn’t miss it.  all that mattered to me was that i was serving.  i was caring for people.  life was good.

when i got home i told my parents they should be happy i came home because i could have stayed.  that’s how much i loved it.  the girl who was so afraid to leave america would have been happy to stay away.

it’s hard to come back to america after a trip like this.  never before did our excessive culture stand out to me as it did when i got back.  wow.  we have a lot of things.  we do a lot of things.  we consume a lot of things.  without noticing and giving it a second thought.  stewardship.  am i being a good steward of my time and money and possessions?  haiti is the poorest country in the western hemisphere and the 20th poorest country in the world.  stewardship.  am i being a good steward of what i saw and of what i know?  how do i tell people what i experienced?

*i saw what i saw:

I saw what I saw and I can’t forget it
I heard what I heard and i can’t go back
I know what I know and I can’t deny it

something on the road, cut me to the soul

your pain has changed me
your dream inspires
your face a memory
your hope a fire
your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
and what I know of love

your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
your courage asks me what I am made of
your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
and what I know of love
and what I know of god

*thanks sara groves

the way i grow in being a good steward of what i saw and of what i know is to keep working…

Leave a Reply

