week 5…checking-in

hey friends.

i am nearly half-way thru lecture phase of DTS and i cannot believe it!  time seems to be going so fast – in about 108 days this season of life will be done…

when i first arrived in chico and considered why the Lord led me to DTS i looked at this as the next step towards finding a job, this was something to check off the list.  God is revealing to me that this is so much more than that.  my time here at DTS is about seeking God – letting him transform my heart and renew my mind.

i am learning so much about who God is and who i am.  God is my father who loves me, and his love flows through me into others.  friends – that’s what i want to be about.  i want to know God’s love so deep inside me that it flows out of me.  i want to bring truth and healing into people’s lives.  my very first support letter mentioned Isaiah 61:  “The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the LORD has appointed me to bring good news to the poor, he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;”  God is confirming that call on my life, and that is exciting!

psalm 34:4-5:  “I sought the LORD, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.  Those who look to him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.”  i also know that the Lord is changing my countenance and spirit.  i want to be radiant and bright, not weighed down in shame and fear.  it is such an encouragement to hear from friends on base that my eyes are bright and my face is glowing.  that’s what it’s about friends…

i really do love my time here – this week i’m feeling a little weary…i feel like i’m always “on” here, like there is always something to learn or ponder or process and that is exhausting.  i’m really praying that i find some ways to relax and feel restored while i’m here.

this week in lecture we learned about relationships – i love God by loving people.  it was a good week of lecture – i feel better equipped to talk about love and relationships with people i minister to.

friends, i really love you and appreciate your support.  so glad you are in my life.

Leave a Reply

